In Loving Memory of my Wife

MyGorgeousWife.jpg

In Loving Memory of my Gorgeous Wife

It is with deep sadness my best friend and wife passed away peacefully having bravely fought a ferocious, extremely aggressive and rare form of Cancer.

At the time of her diagnosis, I stupidly asked “Why you?”, she looked at me lovingly and calmly replied “Why not me?”.

We both knew it would be a rough year, as she underwent an extremely tough regime of Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Scans, Tests, set backs and more surgery than most can endure, and yet she never complained, got upset or cried.  She took each day as it came and focussed on each days problems in a bid to beat her cancer, a fighter to her very last breath.

In November a new (and fatal) tumour was discovered and grew from nothing to a very large size in less than two weeks.  At this point we were told that there was no surgical, radiotherapy or treatment available.  Thankfully the hospital allowed me to sleep on the floor next to her bed for the next 12 days and nights, never leaving her side taking care of her needs until her passing in December.

This years journey has been extremely tough on friends and family dealing with her cancer, and I will tell my story when I have the strength and energy to do so, please believe me when I say she is an inspiration to everyone who knew her during these difficult times.

I am heart broken, devastated and in pain as I have lost my best friend who is gorgeous, caring, witty and a fantastic wife.

I won’t be celebrating Christmas this year (it’s cancelled) and I won’t be sending any cards or festive cheer.  Instead I will sit on my own on Christmas Day with a pizza and a bottle of Jack Daniels for company as I try and make sense of what has happened.

This entry was posted in Cancer, Personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Loving Memory of my Wife

  1. Ian says:

    Really sorry for your loss, and, in your circumstances the bottle of Jack is a given but can I just say something. Even although you can’t, won’t be celebrating this time of year It might be helpful for you to actually make a meal that meant a great deal. (Her favourite dish, your shared favourite kiind of food, Pizza might be it, I don’t know). Just give it a bit of thought. You take care of yourself and try not to shut out those close to you who will also be hurting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

